Books

Keepsake Cove Mystery Series

Release Date:  November 8,2018

“Another deftly crafted and skillfully presented mystery by a master of the genre.” – Midwest Book Review

Get it now!


      

A VINTAGE DEATH – the Keepsake Cove Mysteries Continues

Having volunteered to organize Fall activities for Keepsake Cove, Callie invites suspense author Lyssa Hammond for a Halloween-themed book event. When the owner of the B&B where Lyssa is staying is found murdered with a pair of vintage scissors, his estranged wife and owner of the vintage sewing shop becomes the first suspect. Lyssa agrees that Dorothy couldn’t have done it and quickly pitches in with Callie to help clear her. However, the pair soon find that uncovering secrets is a very dangerous venture.

First in the Keepsake Cove Mystery Series

Callie Reed thinks it’s time to make a major change in her life, and she’s come to her Aunt Melodie on Maryland’s Eastern Shore for moral support. Enchanted with her aunt’s fairy tale cottage and her music box shop, one of many keepsake and collectibles shops in charming Keepsake Cove, Callie’s delight takes a plunge when she discovers her aunt’s body. But was it a fatal accident, as the police claim, or was it murder?

As she struggles to keep the music box shop running, Callie tries to find out the truth while also apparently getting messages from Aunt Mel through one special music box. Or is she?

The Pickled and Preserved Mystery Series

First in the Pickled and Preserved Mystery Series

Meet Piper Lamb, who’s returned to Cloverdale, New York, the scene of many, happy childhood summers, to indulge her simmering passion for all things pickled, canned, and preserved. She’s set up Piper’s Picklings, and to promote the shop and its wares, Piper has snagged a booth at the annual Cloverdale Fair. Things are going great – until the body of the town’s boisterous and blustering bagpiper is discovered in her new pickle barrel!

Join Piper, Aunt Judy and Uncle Frank, and an assortment of Cloverdale friends and foes, as Piper works to uncover the murderer, all while continuing to process every variety of fruit and vegetable into tasty pickles or delicious jams. She’ll even share the recipes with you!

A 4 star review from Romantic Times! “Hughes introduces an entertaining cast of characters in the first book of the Pickled and Preserved mystery series.  The plot is well done, with solid pacing.  Readers will especially enjoy meeting the cast and look forward to more in the new series.”

The Richmond Times Dispatch: “Readers will relish Hughes’ series opener and will look forward to her next installment, which promises to provide another peck of pleasure.”

Second in the Pickled and Preserved Mystery Series

Piper’s ex-fiancé, Scott, has returned from his world travels to settle in Cloverdale, turning Piper’s budding relationship with Will on edge. Then Piper’s favorite dill farmer, Gerald Standley, finds himself in a jam. His old nemesis, Raffaele Conti, has arrived as manager of an Italian soccer team that’s come to play the Cloverdale All-Stars. Raffaele stirs up murderous thoughts from several others, but when his body is found in Gerald’s dill field, all eyes turn to the dill farmer. What a pickle!

Library Journal:  Hughes’s second series entry (after The Pickled Piper) will delight fans of culinary cozies….Fans of Susan Wittig Albert’s “China Bayles” series should enjoy this plucky heroine.

Richmond Times-Dispatch:  A pleasing puzzle, “License to Dill” preserves Hughes’ stature as a first-rate mysterian who specializes in homemade food and homemade homicide.

Dru’s Book Musings:  The action-filled drama kept my interest from beginning to end with a well-stocked storyline that was light and fresh and continued to build to that final moment when the killer’s identity was revealed.

Third in the Pickled and Preserved Mystery Series

Business is booming at Piper’s Picklings in Cloverdale, New York. But not all is sweet in the life of Piper’s number one customer and friend, local caterer Sugar Heywood. Sugar is dating wealthy realtor Jeremy Porter, but his family doesn’t approve. After their unscrupulous accountant finds some dirt on Sugar, the family quickly urges Jeremy to throw her out like rotten fruit.

Things are further spoiled after the accountant is found poisoned, and all evidence points to Sugar’s son, Zach. With the Porter family determined to avoid scandal, it won’t be easy for Piper to preserve Zach’s innocence. And after someone falls victim to a poisoned jar of some of her brandied cherries, Piper’s got a peck of trouble to deal with herself…

Lisa Ks Book Reviews: “Stellar writing along with a killer plot…this series is still on my top favorites list!”

The Craft Corner Mystery Series

Jo McAllister only wants to run her craft shop and teach classes on wreath making, beading, and paper-crafts. Unfortunately, murder intrudes in her small town of Abbotsville, Maryland.  Each book includes directions for a craft project! Follow Jo’s adventures.

“Readers will want to fire up their glue guns and join the goings-on at Jo’s Craft Corner.  There’s wreath-making, stamping, and murder investigation 101. Hughes launches her series with a feisty, likable heroine and a savvy group of craft hounds.” – – Romantic Times

First in the Craft Corner Mystery Series

It’s opening day at Jo’s Craft Corner, and Jo is wired more tightly than the wreath on her store’s front door. The entertainment she’s hired, Cuddles the Clown, is little help, grumbling and complaining until Jo is ready to strangle him. Someone else does silence him, though – for good. With a dead clown in her storeroom and murdered with one of her craft items, Jo becomes the prime suspect. She works to clear her name, unaware that the crafty killer is ready to do anything it takes to stop her – and won’t stop at murder!

Second in the Craft Corner Mystery Series

Parker Holt has started gobbling up properties housing small businesses in town, and Jo worries that her Craft Corner shop will be next. But when she arrives at Holt’s home to learn his intentions, she finds him dead – the victim of an insidious electrical trap.

The police draw a bead on the construction crew working on the house, led by Jo’s good friend, Dan. Anxious to clear him and his workers, Jo and her beading crafters set to work. Motives are dissected as necklaces are created, and Jo follows a chain of clues back into the past, hoping to unknot the current crime – and catch a murderer before he pulls any more deadly strings.

Third in the Craft Corner Mystery Series

With her craft shop business going well, owner Jo McAllister takes off for the weekend, having snagged a spot at the prestigious Michicomi Craft Festival to show her wares. Jo’s excitement dims, however, when she learns her booth is directly across from an old nemesis, the conniving Linda Weeks.

Linda aggravates Jo continually during the festival, eventually goading her into a public argument, which puts Jo in a very bad light after Linda drops dead – from candy unwittingly delivered by Jo.

With her reputation in doubt, Jo sees sales at the Craft Corner slump badly enough to put her business in serious jeopardy. But her good friends rally around her, working out motives and means during Jo’s paper-craft classes. As paper flowers are folded and collages layered, Jo works to track the twisted trail of a killer, before another life is ripped to shreds.

The Maggie Olenski Mystery Series

“… The characters are engaging, the plot has more twists than a tough ski slope, and there is plenty of cozy ambience, thanks to a charming cat, much attention to food, and the ski resort setting. Fans of Diane Mott Davidson’s series or Leslie Meier’s novels should add this series to their lists” Booklist review of A Taste of Death

First in the Maggie Olenski Mystery Series

Maggie decides she needs a break. Teaching high school geometry has her burnt out so she plans a week vacation at Highview Inn, a mountain resort in Maryland. The peaceful, idyllic surroundings are the perfect antidote and she looks forward to long days of playing tennis and swimming. But on her first day she discovers the body of a hotel employee in the woods. The young waitress was also a former student of hers and the murder disturbs Maggie in more ways than one.

Unlike most math problem she encounters, this mystery has no easy answers. As the list of suspects gets longer she finds herself distrusting everyone. With clues from the girl’s diary and inquiries into her suspects’ histories, Maggie moves closer to the truth. Then she learns of other puzzling “suicides” and accidental deaths in the resort’s past which seem too coincidental to her. But the killer knows what she is up to, and she will have to outwit this cold-blooded murderer or die trying.

 

Second the Maggie Olenski Mystery Series

Maggie heads for the snowy mountains in New Hampshire to work on her math puzzle book, hoping for peace, solitude and a little skiing. Instead she finds a town embroiled in bitter debate over the proposed sale of the local ski resort, which culminates in the murder of wealthy Jack Warwick. With her childhood friend under suspicion, Maggie presses to uncover the real killer. Can she do so before getting her own “taste of death?”